Mt. Bailey – 5/28/16

(To the the tune of Hank Williams’ ‘On Top of Old Smokey’ – sing along!)

On top of Mt. Bailey, all covered with scree

To find some adventure, I went with Jesse

To summit Mt. Bailey, we stomped through the snow

We skirted the crater, and swatted mosquitoes

We followed blue blazes, and made our way to the top

“We’re nearly there” he’d say, and I tried not to stop

The day was so pleasant, warm with blue skies

I’d gaze east to Mt. Thielsen, with awe in my eyes

We traversed a few snow fields, Jesse cut us a path

I was nervous at first, “I’ll do what with this axe!?”

We had snacks at the summit, and took in the view

“I love this”, I told him, “adventuring with you”.

20160529_002740027_ios

 

Leave a Reply

