Silver Falls Half – 11/8/15

Silver Falls is one of those events that sells out within about an hour of registration opening. Jesse and I happened to be running the Cascade Lakes Relay when that happened – I remember the moment vividly and giggle. In The-Middle-Of-Nowhere, Oregon 5 of our 6 crazy runners registered from their smartphones. It might have been a little ambitious, but it had to be done.

Months later, it was no longer 100° F outside and race day arrived. Jesse was still in Germany and he gave his spot to my colleague so there were really only two-thirds of our CLR team; but it was a fun reunion nonetheless. (I ran into Matt and Lee from CLR at the final aid station; they were both all smiles!)

20151108_195811048_iOS

John and me – enjoying the post-race rain and grub!

It was a rainy, drizzly day, as you’d expect in early November in Oregon. I knew the falls would be raging and I was excited about running this event. Jesse ran the full marathon two years prior and it was easily one of the top to-do events on my list.

IMG_7361

I started out too fast; it’s easy to do when you’re feeling pumped. It had been a few months since I’d done an event and pre-race adrenaline didn’t help matters. Around mile 3 I lost my timing chip (they were the zip-tie to your shoe kind) and I had to stop and re-attach it. My colleague caught up to me at that point and we ended up running the rest of the event together, which was great. It was nice to chat with him and having a running buddy during an event is always a treat.

D4B8C4E8-C39B-458F-B867-8A858D09DD6C

I had a finishing time of 2:21:03, which I was feeling pretty good about (considering I walked the last slippery hill). You can see the professional race photos here and here.

20151108_194903434_iOS 1

We enjoyed the post-race stew and reminisced about Cascade Lakes. After a while we were all getting chilly as the wind picked up so we hit the road for home…but not without another race registration on the books (we’ll all reunite in April for the McKenzie River 18-miler)!

20151108_200711028_iOS

Leave a Reply

