ORRC Y2K14 – 1/4/14

Last Saturday was my running buddy’s first 10K! We hadn’t been running together for a while and I was so grateful for her company and support again – I’ve missed her! She picked me up Saturday morning and we ventured to Forest Grove for the Oregon Road Runner’s Club Y2K14 Run.

It was such a beautiful morning…a little brisk and everything beyond Hillsboro was frosty a crisp. We were pressed for time upon our arrival and, naturally, both had to pee and get our packets and down some GU and stash our swag and just. Yeah. But it all worked out! I will say this, though. I was not super enamored with this race organization. Once again, they offered no pre-race day packet pickup and our “swag” was a shitty fleece hat that didn’t even say what the event was and miiiiight fit my 4 year old niece. I wanted to buy L a shirt for her first 10K and the only ones available to purchase were the series ones. This was an example of wanting to save money on registration fees and I guess I get that, but was still disappointed.

Anyways, it all ended up being fine. I shoved the hat(s) in my pocket for some uncomfortable (and unflattering) running bulges and the race began. It was a 100% road race, but again, it was such a gorgeous morning for running and, let’s be honest. Forest Grove is extremely rural, so it’s not as if it had urban running inconveniences such as stoplights, trains, etc. It was a flat course, but we were quickly “exhausted” by the vehicle fumes we had to endure along the highway stretch (see what I did there!? 😉

My hip, true to form, started aching around mile 2.5. We stopped for wardrobe adjustments around mile 4 and I did some stretching, which may or may not have helped. By the end of the race, L and I were both pretty quiet, trying to keep our respective complaints to a minimum. Our goal by mile 5 was to finish before “tall girl with striped socks”. Mission accomplished!

We both finished strong, had a good 15 minute stretch session, decided to skip the pancake feast, and we headed back to PDX. It was a great first run of the year and I think it was a good event for L’s first 10K, though we are both missing our summer-y trail runs.

1-4-14

Also – new Brooks running jacket = love.

In other news, I saw a PT on Monday and have to say…I expected more. For $150 I was told to do more yoga and was sent home. He couldn’t answer why I was hurting to begin with, yet told me I could still run and should just stretch it out mid-run if it bothers me. So I cancelled my follow up appointment, spoke to a few acquaintances who are PTs, and concluded that……I am more confused than ever.

Leave a Reply

