Trail and Error

Happy New Year!

Before diving into physical therapy and starting that process, I wanted to make sure my sore hip wasn’t just some sort of fluke. So over the weekend I talked Jesse into going with me on a super casual run on Leif Erickson from Germantown (he doesn’t care for this trail, hence the talking him into it…).

Now, I’ve not made mention of him much before because, well, he’s not a super great running partner. But we have a dog, Riley, and he’s just as sweet as can be…at home. But in public, he’s the dog equivalent of a hungry and pissed off t-rex. His leash aggression and anxiety make public outings extremely stressful. Sadly, then, I rarely take him when we run in Forest Park because everyone else has well-behaved dogs who get to run off-leash and it becomes such a nightmare for everyone and I become instantly mortified and want to scrap the whole thing.

This time was no exception.

There didn’t seem to be a ton of people/dogs on the trail, but enough to make the run miserable and eventually turn into a slow walk/training session. One guy had some sort of wolf-dog hybrid (who was actually really cute and sweet and his name was Atlas and I wanted to flop his ears and bury my face in his fluffy orange fur…but I digress) but the poor thing was lacking any sort of leadership from his owner and Riley went absolutely bonkers. We were basically held hostage on the trail while Atlas ran about, unwilling to be caught, while Riley was restrained, all the while snarling and whining and trying to be good but was just really really bad. So all in all, nothing came from that “adventure” (except this cute picture I snapped when he was actually being good) and me finally being prompted to call a behaviorist. We have a 2-hour training scheduled in a week. Stay tuned!

Riley - 12/28/13

On Sunday, leaving poor Bear at home, we planned a short loop on Wildwood. It had clearly been a while since I’d done any sort of rolling hill running and I was feeling the burn. In the best possible way, though. ; ]

About 3 miles in, the elevation gain was taking its toll and I had to turn back, making my run about 2 miles shorter than I wanted. On the bright side, I was not sore at all that night or the next day. Hoping to get in another short one before deciding how to move forward with training/recovery. I was sick yesterday so didn’t bring in the new year with a run, but today…things are lookin’ up.

Leave a Reply

