Silver Falls Marathon – 11/02/13

Earlier this month, after an excruciatingly long week (or two) away from home for work, Jesse returned to Oregon to run the 2013 Silver Falls Marathon. The night before was a good friend’s birthday so we were out partying it up until the wee hours of the….evening (i.e. home by 9:00 PM) playing some good ol’ Cards Against Humanity. What can I say? We are horrible people…

We arrived at Silver Falls with a ton of time to spare. The never-ending debate of “jacket or no jacket” was had, and then off to the starting line. Well hey there, good lookin’!

photo 1

I wore running clothes and was hopeful to go over to Shellburg Falls while Jesse was gettin’ his marathon on. I will admit, though, that I did not make this happen because it was cold and blustery that day at Silver Falls and I couldn’t talk myself into it. So what did I end up doing for 5 hours?

allegiant

Soooo…..yeah. I enjoy post-apocalyptic YA novels, what of it? I am also a sucker for a strong female protagonist, but don’t judge me unless you’ve read them – they are addictive! Anyways, I read all the pages from the “comfort” of my car. And no, I don’t want to talk about the ending. Veronica Roth, if you’re reading this (what are the odds!?), I’m not speaking to you.

As I often do hanging around the finish line, I was partaking in some light jest with the volunteers and making new friends. I knew Jesse would be having a rough day, preceded by a rough week and it’s so much fun having these brief moments with strangers – they suddenly become your support crew best friends and cheer just as hard as you do when your runner is spotted. And, naturally, the sentiment is delightfully returned. I love it.

Despite being in less-than-peak condition, Jesse says Silver Falls delivered, per usual, the event was great, and it only hailed for a little while 🙂 At the end of the day, he still ran a freaking marathon! And he is ridiculously photogenic doing so, am I right? Or am I right?

Some photos from the finish line:

photo 2

Afterwards, we sat in the tent area for some post race food and, as we were both shivering quite a bit at this point, we hit the road for home. It’s been 2.5 weeks since, and Jesse’s shoes have yet to be cleaned off. Gotta love trail running!

One thought on “Silver Falls Marathon – 11/02/13

  1. Pingback: Silver Falls Half – 11/8/15 | Half Is My Lucky Number

Leave a Reply

